Talk

Advanced search

Good blusher for 50 yr old

(35 Posts)
whataboutbob Tue 11-Apr-17 12:45:45

I still have the MAC blusher I bought at 35, but it doesn't seem to "work" anymore (doesn't transmit onto the brush). I'm looking for a new one, but what works well for older skins? Should I avoid blusher with those sparkly particles? I'm willing to pay up to Chanel prices. All recommendations gratefully received!
PS my skin's not bad i think, I've been using daily sun protection for at least 2 decades.

ilovecherries Tue 11-Apr-17 17:15:11

Is this the same blusher you've had for 15+ years, or is it that you just keep re-buying the same brand? If the former, it's probably sealed with a layer of oil, which is why it won't pick up any more. I'm over 50, and I quite like a cream to powder formulation - Look Fabulous Forever does a nice one, and it's matte so doesn't add sparkle. I also have a Lancôme cushion foundation that I wouldn't have bought myself, because it's a stupid price for a blusher, but again, it goes on beautifully as a liquid. My best buy though is a Rosie by Autograph blusher (again cream) from M&S.

ilovecherries Tue 11-Apr-17 17:16:10

Cushion blusher, I meant. I also have their cushion foundation, but that's not what I was talking about.

ggirl Tue 11-Apr-17 17:23:10

give it a scrape with a nail file and it will come back to life

whataboutbob Wed 12-Apr-17 12:57:54

Thanks for your responses. Yes it is the original one.
Confession time: I went out to the little independent dept store local to me and bought a Sisley blusher for the bonkers price of £54. It is very nice, non sparkly and natural, but I have now vowed to stay away from beauty counters for the next 5 years. However I may just check out the autograph blusher. And get my nail file onto my old one, in the spirit of experimentation!

ilovecherries Wed 12-Apr-17 14:24:59