Talk

Advanced search

Concerns about dying my hair every 3-4 weeks

(30 Posts)
HNY2017 Sun 09-Apr-17 07:35:37

I'm really grey/white. My natural color is mid-brown and I've been dying my hair every 3-4 weeks for about 12 years now.

Recently I've seen stuff about cancer and other risks related to long term hair dye usuage and I don't know what to do. It seems the more natural dyes either aren't as natural as they suggest and just swap one nasty chemical for another, or they don't provide decent enough coverage.

Does anyone here use a more natural dye that they could recommend for good coverage?

Growing my grey out is not an option I'm comfortable with now, I'm 37 and pretty much 100% white on the top third of my head and I'm just not ready to do it.

user1486161908 Sun 09-Apr-17 09:26:04

I totally understand your concerns, I hate the thought of putting loads of chemicals on my head and leaving them in there for 20 mins or more... I'm trying to switch to natural beauty and household products where possible, but the only option I can come up with is henna... I tried this years ago, you can get it from Lush, but I remember it took a long time and was very messy... also I'm not sure what it would be like if you're coming in solid grey, sorry I couldn't be more help, but I'll be watching with interest!

user1491724818 Sun 09-Apr-17 09:29:34

No easy answers, I'm afraid.

Agree with pp that henna is the only 100% natural, 100% coverage and 100% permanent option.

This short video shows the result you will get from Lush Caca Brun on 100% grey hair.

I use this myself. It's a bit time-consuming, a bit messy, but does tick all the other boxes you want.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wn--0dy_S28

user1491724818 Sun 09-Apr-17 09:30:08

Lush has other colours too which you can check out.

neveradullmoment99 Sun 09-Apr-17 09:30:21

I use henna? Maybe an option and much kinder to your hair😁

neveradullmoment99 Sun 09-Apr-17 09:31:20