Talk

Advanced search

clothes obsession

(9 Posts)
agnes158 Sat 01-Apr-17 21:01:53

Anyone else a bit obsessed with clothes? I feel like it might even be getting out of hand tbh. I really enjoy having my own style and feel like a more confident version of myself when im wearing the 'right' thing (ie a quirky style). but it means i spend too much and i think i need to cut down :/ i also work in a shop where i have to buy the clothes for uniform which doesn't help- and they're not even my style. anyone else in a similar boat?

Trustyourself2 Sat 01-Apr-17 21:17:20

I love clothes. I wouldn't say I'm obsessed. I find that if I stay away from the shops for a while, difficult for you, the need to buy wanes a little. The last thing I bought was a spring jacket about 3 wks ago. I nearly bought a pair of shoes today, but I managed to resist - doesn't mean I'm not still thinking about them though!

I also find that if I do some window shopping online, it helps to calm things.

highinthesky Sat 01-Apr-17 21:27:39

I think it might be age-related.

It was v important to me in my 20s and 30s but much less so now. I've got cupboards stuffed full of lovely clothes that I haven't worn for 2 years or more now.

passtheharibo Sat 01-Apr-17 21:30:17

Have a look at recoveringshopaholic blog. She speaks sense! The main thing I do to curb my spending is putting a pause between identifying something I must have and buying it. Add something to an online basket and wait 24 hours. Or if in a shop, walk away. Come back the next day if you still want it. Often the need dissipates.

TheFirstMrsDV Sat 01-Apr-17 21:37:22

I have been this way all of my adult life. Even longer but I didn't have money to buy clothes until I was working.
First pay cheque went on a leather jacket and I have been the same since.
Once I had responsibilities (DCs) I would always see to the bills, food, kids etc first but even when I was utterly skint I would go to jumble sales so I could still buy clothes.