Talk

Advanced search

Make-up for fifty-ish frump?

(22 Posts)
floraeasy Fri 31-Mar-17 16:59:38

Looking for a bit of help if you can spare me a bit of time, please smile

I am overweight (dieting).

Very pale skin. Not too bad with wrinkles. Probably 'cos I'm overweight!

I do get crinkles round eyes and mouth when I smile though.

My skin is PALE. VERY. Also very rosy cheeks!

I currently use:-

Olay primer
L'Oreal True Match foundation
L'Oreal True Match powder
No 7 Pop 'n' Glow Blusher

Really not happy with any of it!

My foundation looks chalky and a bit drying in my eye crinkles.
Powder heightens eye wrinkles too. Think I need to quit powder habit.
My blusher is much too bright.

I could do with suggestions for the following

Fake tan for pale skin
A blusher for pale skin that doesn't make me look like a clown
Make-up that does not make my thin, dry, pale skin older-looking

I am not good at make-up. Sometimes I think I look okay but then I see myself in sunlight and the horror! My make-up never looks well applied.

I live hundreds of miles away from a department store which I could get a makeover.

Always wear some, but in the same old rut I've been in for years.

Thanks all!

clangermum Fri 31-Mar-17 17:09:23

Hi floraeasy could I join in with another fifty-ish request along similar lines, which might be helpful?

I would love to do a short make-up course but would probably die of embarassment if doing it 'in person'.

I know there are thousands of online tutorials so it's hard to know where to start. Could someone recommend something online that goes through the essentials from the beginning? Or is more relevant for the - ahem - more mature?

floraeasy Fri 31-Mar-17 17:16:12

Oh please do, clangermum - the more the merrier! We could even end up helping each other!

floraeasy Fri 31-Mar-17 17:17:30

Yes, I'm quite shy too and can't see me doing anything "in person".