Talk

Advanced search

Recommend me (40 year old) a daily moisturiser

(9 Posts)
NutellaLawson Thu 02-Mar-17 13:05:42

I'm a skin care novice and a bit overwhelmed by the choice, range and jargon of all these creams, lotions and serums on the shelves. But I'm 40 and although my skin is in quite good nick another part of me thinks it could probably do with a bit more care than its had.

I don't have dry skin apart from a small patch at the eyebrows. No red blotches. A few fine lines at the eyes but otherwise pretty good.

So give me your recommendations that might keep my skin looking lovely for the next 10 or 20 years, please. I'm brand agnostic but prefer cruelty free.

monkeymamma Thu 02-Mar-17 16:01:26

I've just discovered a brand called la roche posay (stocked in boots). it's mid range, price-wise, but so so good. My skin is better than it has been in years.
I also use estee lauder night repair serum and day cream. My husband nearly fainted when he saw how much it cost (he walked into the shop as I was paying, unfortunate timing really).
Liz Earle is also very good, no perfumes or irritants, and price again fairly mid range, but the smell is a bit funny and the stuff with muslin cloths quite fiddly.
I'm pretty jealous of your good skin, I'm a few years younger than you but my skin is awful! It's dry on my forehead, oil slick on my chin and nose, wrinkles all round my eyes, nose, lips (latest outrage on my top lip - all puckered like I'm a lifelong smoker - which I'm not) and my forehead. Oh god my forehead. I could weep, but I got a fringe.

Lolimax Thu 02-Mar-17 16:06:38

I came on to say Liz Earle. I'm even older lol (47) and it doesn't 'settle' under my foundation like other heavier moisturisers. I love the smell!

Wishiwasmoiradingle2017 Thu 02-Mar-17 16:08:53

Nivea light daily moisturiser. My ds 15 was commenting last night how lovely my skin is!! I am 45!!

TitaniasCloset Thu 02-Mar-17 16:15:17