Talk

Advanced search

Whether you’re a beauty novice or a confirmed fashionista, this topic is for consulting Mumsnetters on all things style-related. Plus, check out our Swears By page for the inside track on the next Mumsnet must-have.

Looking for new year fairy godmothers to probably teach me the basics!

(18 Posts)
sleepwouldbenice Thu 29-Dec-16 01:12:28

Hello
I am 45 and try hard with the drink water, mostly healthy diet and doing exercise side of looking after yourself and helping on the beauty front

But am totally clueless with regards to Beauty regime, creams and potions. Use Clinique toner, boots no 7 serum and a basic spf15 foundation. That's it. Average skin, very occasional pimple but otherwise no issues

Looking for advice as to what products to buy that will help with youthful endeavours etc from those who have lots more of a clue than I do! Where to get these from and do/don't do rules also fine - I am a novice so won't find any advice too basic! Eg really don't know what retin a is. . .

Thanks for your advice!

sleepwouldbenice Thu 29-Dec-16 17:14:12

Hopeful bump!

HeyMacWey Thu 29-Dec-16 17:53:01

My first bit of advice would be to get a decent spf to wear daily. Get one that's broad spectrum and spf 50. Biore watery essence is a good one if you've got oily /combo skin. You'll probably need to order online from Japan. Lots of threads on here with other recommendations.

Second bit would be double cleansing; so firstly taking off makeup with an oil or balm (superdrug to a good brightening balm or body shop chamomile oil is good too), then second cleanse to clean your skin. I use cerave which you can buy from Amazon but any low ph cleanser is good.

No issues skin doesn't really need much additional imo. Perhaps a light day moisturiser. Avene or la Roche-posay are both good brands and you can get in boots. Avene would probably better if no major issues with your skin.