Talk

Advanced search

Reassurance needed, please?

(15 Posts)
Idefix Sun 11-Dec-16 20:30:56

So I have an interview as a hcp (not doctor or high level) next week and beginning to panic about what I have bought for my interview.

I have read lots of threads that seem to suggest that a dress and cardigan is not smart enough...is this always so? <desparately hoping not!>
I will be wearing very smart shoes etc.

I am very short, and after extensive searches I could not find a suit that would fit. Where I live there is no such thing as petite sections (alterations to cuffs and hems is offered but does not help when the body of blazers and shoulder positioning...rambling blush

Thoughts anyone?

everythingsgoingsouth Sun 11-Dec-16 20:36:51

Whats the position? I'm a senior nurse and had interviewees from HCA to staff nurse level wearing dress/cardigan outfits- no judgement, as long as they were clean, ironed, not too much flesh on show etc. Good luck to you!

Idefix Sun 11-Dec-16 20:49:25

Thank you everything the job is a Band 5/6, non-hospital position but will be wearing a uniform. I do feel slightly silly worrying about this, but really want the job so probably overthinking this a bit.

The dress is very demure, plain to the knee with a fairly high round neck. The cardigan is quite structure, same colour as dress, planning to wear a small tonal? scarf to inject a small bit of relief.

Idefix Sun 11-Dec-16 20:50:23

Thank you for the good luck wink

nooddsocksforme Sun 11-Dec-16 21:06:14

have done interviews for folk at your level. as long as you are not scruffy people will be much more interested in what yo say than what you wear

70isaLimitNotaTarget Sun 11-Dec-16 21:12:03

Uniform wearing HCP here ( 'tis nice not to have to worry too much about what I wear, as long as its clean and correct uniform, )

Hands.
Clean nails, not too much jewellery (infection control)
Maybe take a wipey freshen up in case your hands get clammy .