Talk

Advanced search

Is there any point in buying expensive mascara?

(32 Posts)
Lucydogz Sat 19-Nov-16 17:57:55

I was in Boot's the other day and was wondering. I'm a low-maintenance woman, so usually buy the cheapest, but am I missing something?

Benefit Rollerlash is well worth the cost.
Lancome usually do a good gift set at this time of year, which works out at good value.
Otherwise I generally just buy Max Factor if economising.

WhooooAmI24601 Sat 19-Nov-16 18:02:42

It depends which you buy. You can get some that are crap and look like you've dead spiders glued to your eyes. Others are marvellous. I've got sensitive eyes and lots of mascaras make me itch, so stick to YSL babydoll or Chanel's le Volume. Both last all day (I'm a teacher so can't reapply or have great stripes down my cheeks when a small child sneezes on me) so for me, yes, they're worth it.

Thatwaslulu Sat 19-Nov-16 18:03:16

I second Benefit Rollerlash. I had only ever bought Rimmel or Max Factor before, but I wanted something fancy for a special event and have been so impressed with it.
I got a special gift version with a free mini product for my travel bag.

Bluntness100 Sat 19-Nov-16 18:03:21

I use Lancôme doll eyes, for me yes I find it better than cheaper ones, it gives a better effect , no clumps, seperates, thickens etc. They last for quite awhile as well, so for me I don't see the big deal financially.

I've used a number of cheaper ones like rimmel etc and I don't find them to be as good, more product needed for the same effect and then looks a bit cakey.

Ultimately they all do the same job, but I do think yes you get what you pay for and it's good to find one uou like,

seminakedinsomebodyelsesroom Sat 19-Nov-16 18:03:24

I also buy Lancome as a treat and I think it is better than cheaper mascara. But same as PP, Max Factor is my go to 'high street' choice.

microsnake Sat 19-Nov-16 18:04:08

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Pistachiois50pmore Sat 19-Nov-16 18:21:02