Talk

Advanced search

Going to uni as a "mature" student - what on earth shall I wear ??

(10 Posts)
whatohwhattowear Fri 02-Sep-16 11:52:52

Please help me !

I'm late 20s and off to uni in a few weeks and I have no idea what to wear. I am studying "farming" (I don't want to use the proper name as I don't want to be on the google searches !) alongside business. I just don't know how to balance "I'm serious about my studies/hire me when I'm qualified" look with "I'm not a tutor". I had a nosey on open days and it's a lot of skinny jeans and wax jackets, but I can't wear that all the time. I'm about a size 16 at the moment which doesn't help ,also I have to dress somewhat modestly (ie leggings with any dresses and at least t shirt length sleeves). However I am worried I'll go slip down the "Boden dress /leggings/hunter welly" slippery slope ....

I never know who's going to suddenly turn up so I have to at least have a nod towards looking a little professional I guess (think multinational companies and what not) but I could also end up at any given moment on a farm/on a tractor.

Please help me blush

CoolToned Fri 02-Sep-16 12:04:41

wax jackets?

whatohwhattowear Fri 02-Sep-16 12:12:40

Yeh you know like Barbour jackets.

vitaminC Fri 02-Sep-16 12:19:01

I became a mature student in my late 30s and also wondered how to dress. I left a corporate career and it took me quite a while to get used to casual wear every day.
These days I tend to dress fairly similarly to the other students but I buy slightly more expensive versions in better quality fabrics, as I can no longer get away with cheaper items - i just look scruffy.

CoolToned Fri 02-Sep-16 12:22:45

I'm a mature student right now, in my late 30s. Basically I wear jeans, sneakers, t-shirt, and a jacket/down jacket/parka depending on the weather.

TheDropBear Fri 02-Sep-16 12:30:54

Casual stuff, unless it's a specific event your lecturers won't care what you wear.