We rely on advertising to keep the lights on.

Please consider adding us to your whitelist.

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Calling all teachers - non-contact day dress code advice?

(19 Posts)
disneyprincesswannabe Mon 29-Aug-16 15:04:28

I start my new job tomorrow as a teaching assistant. I have never worked in a school before so I have no idea on expectations/dress codes etc. Tomorrow is non-contact/staff-training day. Do you wear your regular smart clothes for this or is it more casual and relaxed? I don't want to go over or under dressed really.
It's a normal secondary comprehensive if that makes any difference

PosiePootlePerkins Mon 29-Aug-16 15:06:53

I am a TA and days without children are always more relaxed, however as its your very first day I Would play it safe and go smart casual. Maybe some trousers and a casual top. You will probably see people in jeans but I wouldn't wear them unless I was sure it was the 'done thing'. Good luck!

Randytortoise Mon 29-Aug-16 15:08:23

I'm primary and have inset at the end of the week. I'll be wearing jeans and 3/4 sleeve top. You usually have some time set aside for sorting classrooms and stuff out so might end up having to move furniture/boxes/--cap that should have been thrown out years ago--

Haggisfish Mon 29-Aug-16 15:09:17

Jeans!! I don't own jeans and always look like an oddball on our inset days!

AllPizzasGreatAndSmall Mon 29-Aug-16 15:12:21

I would just wear the same as on a day off and would quite happily go in in vest, shorts and flip flops if it was warm, otherwise probably jeans. I'm primary though and we have a pretty relaxed dress code generally.

timelytess Mon 29-Aug-16 15:13:49

Not fucking shorts. I'm out of teaching now but on one of the last training days I attended, the 20-something women wore very short denim shorts with black tights. Not a good look.

Wear jeans, or if you don't have them, soft-ish trousers, with a long top.

timelytess Mon 29-Aug-16 15:14:36