We rely on advertising to keep the lights on.

Please consider adding us to your whitelist.

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Curly girl method just doesn't agree with me!

(8 Posts)
HughLauriesStubble Thu 11-Aug-16 08:34:32

I've been doing the cg routine for over 6 months now but although my curls look good, it's just not agreeing with my scalp. I've tried different products and it took me a while to find ones that work for me but I'm still having issues.

My hair has been falling out twice as much since I started. I know people will say it only looks like a lot is falling out etc etc, but mine actually is coming out in clumps. It's noticeably thinner. I get bloods done regularly for a medical issue so I know it's not a thyroid problem of vitamin deficiency.

Another thing I've noticed is that since starting cg, my scalp doesn't tolerate hair dye. Despite doing patch tests up to a week in advance and having no reaction, when I dye my scalp becomes extremely itchy for up to a week afterwards. Never happened me before.

I have read up about it and seemingly I'm not the only one suffering these problems. Tempted to go back to low-poo and lift the silicone embargo to see if things improve confused

Clankboing Thu 11-Aug-16 08:44:05

I had this too. I ended up with a fungal infection on my scalp, discovered as the whole family sent me to the doctors as they were sick of my hair falling out. I was given a liquid application that was really soothing when applied. Tbh I had to forget types of shampoo and now use the one that doesn't cause problems (ultimate blends). The ones like body shop rainforest shampoo caused the issues. I find if I have the correct cut my hair is good.

HughLauriesStubble Thu 11-Aug-16 08:50:50