Disheartened in little black dress hunt. Can anyone help?

(23 Posts)
INeedNewShoes Fri 22-Jan-16 16:24:46

I'm not very good at the clothes thing. Whenever I need to buy something specific I never get it quite right and end up feeling frumpy or self conscious in it.

I need a black dress for an event in a few weeks' time, but I'm having trouble finding anything that ticks all the boxes. This time I'm determined to find something I feel good in (especially as I'll be in front of an audience). The criteria are (now that I've listed them - far too many - no wonder I'm having problems finding anything!):

- all black
- size 10/12
- knee length, or a bit above the knee (I'm 5 ft 4)
- have a bit of room up top (chest 28F/30E)
- needs to be decent (not see through under bright lights, not too revealing cleavage wise or too short)
- not have polyester or nylon unless it is lined with cotton or something else on the top half
- not be figure hugging around my hips (I'm a bit spare-tyre ish at the moment and even a magic slip doesn't seem to resolve this)
- I'd prefer it to have some arm coverage, and definitely not be strappy or strapless
- budget £60 (could stretch to £80)

Is anyone able to make any suggestions? I would really appreciate some help. I'm nervous about the event and it would give me a boost if I like what I'm wearing.

Behooven Fri 22-Jan-16 16:33:33

Quite classic but beautifully cut from Jaeger Outlet

too plain?

or this

MrsNoraCharles Fri 22-Jan-16 16:50:07

I think this Michael Kors would be longer on you than on the model, so would probably be knee-length.
This may be a bit long? Also MK.
Knitted so maybe a bit casual? Baukjen.
Kneelength on the model, so perhaps a little long for you? Warehouse.
Flattering side drape. Whistles.

INeedNewShoes Fri 22-Jan-16 16:52:40

Thanks Behooven

I quite like the first one, but I think polyamide is the same as polyester so that's out because of my stupidly sensitive skin :/