Please help a useless bride with makeup

(18 Posts)
cluelessv Wed 20-Jan-16 13:31:30

I am getting married in 6 weeks. It is a tiny wedding with tiny budget. As such I have gathered some new/some old makeup and I will be doing my own on the day.
I don't wear a lot most of the time but just for this day I want to look pretty.
I am fairly confident I have the right shades of foundation and powder.

I have four things I am really confused about. I have no clue if it is me or if it is makeup but could someone give me some tips/ point me in the right direction of good tutorials to fix the following:

My lipstick won't stay on for 5 minutes. It looks and feels nice but when I check a mirror it is gone. Totally gone.
My eyebrows are nearly non-existant. I have a brow kit but then I look a bit Barbara Cartland. Or maybe I just think I do as I am new to it.
My eyeshadow looks nice, but my eyes still look really hooded.

The last one is just age I think but is there a way to minimise wrinkles under the eye ?

As I said tiny budget, no way for a make up artist and even if I came into a bit more cash there are other things for it to go on, so any help for a make up idiot would be lovely!

BrushtheHeat Wed 20-Jan-16 13:39:35

The cheapest, easiest way to familiarise yourself with cosmetics is practice, practice, practise. Start in the evenings just playing around with what you like. Take photos of yourself in different lighting to look back at. If you're fair, less is more with brows, follow brow kit instructions and apply a small amount. Leave it go back to the mirror in half hr and see what you think. Maybe apply more if you want more definition. Don't forget, you don't want to look like a stranger on your wedding day and in the photos. If you're normally understated, just enhance what you have with subtle blush for a healthy glow, some eye definition. I'm sure others will have advice to add to this. And congratulations!

BrushtheHeat Wed 20-Jan-16 13:40:59