Talk

Advanced search

my kids say they are embarrassed by my lack of style! help please!

(23 Posts)
hildegardbingen Thu 14-Jan-16 11:52:31

I'm quite new to mumsnet, never posted on this section before but have been reading with interest!

My sense of style was a bit eccentric pre kids (especially before my 2nd), but since kids and not driving so walking loads practicality has taken over. I'd like to look nice, but don't have good body confidence, and .... NOTHING seems to fit or suit me, I'm on a budget as well so I just give up! Same with grooming - I think I should get a tan, do eyebrows and nails and stuff but never seem to get round to it.

Kids have taken to calling me 'embarrassing' when doing school run or out with them. I usually am scruffy in jeans or jogging bottoms and t shirt and boots and jacket, no make up.

I'm a size 6/8 on top and 8/10 on bottom so pear shaped around the bum/thighs , slight belly, small boobs. I'm fair and pale skinned, and only 5ft 1in so everything I get has to be petite or altered. Another style problem I have is I have an automimmune prob so I have really thin hair and need to wear extensions a lot or at really bad stages a hairpiece, I find only the expensive ones look decent and even then with spending 1000s it's still not totally natural in bright light, so I am usually found wearing a hat September to April and maybe a cap in summer or a headband or hairband. I find it hard to feel 'pretty' but at least would like to look well put-together and feminine.

Am I a lost cause for style? grin

ps - Don't really need workwear as I work part time and have a work uniform, I do a lot of walking outside, and I do sometimes go on nights out

specialsubject Thu 14-Jan-16 11:55:24

I'd forget the fashion and teach your kids some empathy and manners.

if you are clean, tidy (clothes not full of holes) that's it. And you'd look ridiculous with a fake tan with the colouring you mention.

how you dress is no-one else's business.