Talk

Advanced search

Does anyone have a capsule wardrobe?

(7 Posts)
Geraniumred Sat 19-Dec-15 20:36:00

Is creating a capsule wardrobe really hard? I would love one as we have a house with hardly any storage space and I am not very good at fashion. I work in a school (a TA) so my week day clothes do not have to differ too much from my weekend clothes. I am a tall size 12.

Kennington Sat 19-Dec-15 22:10:52

Yep and it is a massive time saver.
Skinny black, grey or navy trousers from COS - cropped in summer, long in winter.
Merino wool crew neck jumpers - mainly in navy and charcoal grey. For winter - with a cami beneath.
Silk t shirts in summer, same colours.
I save colour for jewellery.
I wear scarves and bags with snake print but dark colours.
Quite a bore!
I shop in marks and spencer, uniqlo, and other stories, and COS for trousers. Limiting shops saves time.
Weekends it is black skinny jeans, plain or coated - marks or boden.

Pretty much. I have quite a few clothes but for the last couple of seasons, I've out lots of them away and stuck to a much reduced wardrobe. I've decided that since I pretty much live in black jeans and a black or grey top or jumper for casual, and black or grey skirts, trousers or dresses and black tops and jackets for work, there's not much point in me keeping or buying much else.

BlueEyedWonder Sun 20-Dec-15 09:41:56

I've reduced down my wardrobe over the last 18 months. Not necessarily a capsule wardrobe but I stick to the following minimal principles:
1) only things that I actually wear (as opposed to buying things I think one should own)
2) Limit colour. I buy largely a neutral clothes - black, grey, beige and tobacco shades. I then add one or 2 accent colours each season - Just a t-shirt or a scarf or necklace.
3) Do not repeat buy. I used to buy the same things over and over. There's only so many pairs of jeans one can wear! I now go for quality over quantity and replace when worn out.

Geraniumred Mon 21-Dec-15 14:46:32