Talk

Advanced search

Help! What do middle aged women wear to an evening do?

(20 Posts)
neolara Mon 07-Dec-15 14:45:51

Just properly looked at the invite to my dh's Xmas works do this Thursday. Turns out that instead of a quick bite to eat down the pub its a 3 course meal plus dancing in a posh venue, dress code "party wear".

So.... I literally have nothing to wear. I'm a SAHM / student who has one pair of jeans I wear every day with alternating tops. I don't have any dresses, party shoes or boots. I am middle aged and a bit podgy. 5'7". Had a style day a couple of years ago and was advised not to wear anything with defined a waist as "why draw attention to something you don't have". Lady had a point. Small boobs. I look like a boy at the best of times - straight up and down. Black looks dreadful on me.

Any ideas would be fantastic. I really don't know where to start.

patterkiller Mon 07-Dec-15 15:23:51

I bought this from warehouse. It's blue with a subtle sparkle. It is very flattering.

BrendaandEddie Mon 07-Dec-15 15:49:52

do you like trousers?
if so get some slim black trousers and some kind of top.
Interesting shoes

Its not hard

niminypiminy Mon 07-Dec-15 16:48:30

This is where Marks and Spencer comes into its own - it's everywhere and full of reasonably priced stuff that you can wear out. Don't listen to people who say it's all horrible, that's quite untrue.

Personally I would choose something like slim black trousers and a top such as this with sequin bomber jacket but there are lots of very wearable choices on their partywear page - and many are reduced.

Floisme Mon 07-Dec-15 17:02:39

What are your arms like? If they're still good, I'd go for trousers and a sleeveless sequin top. There are lots of them around: quite high necked which would probably suit you if you've small boobs and the sequins mean they're quite forgiving of lumps and bumps.