Talk

Advanced search

Grown up backpack/rucksack

(18 Posts)
Fallulah Fri 06-Nov-15 20:24:31

I'm a teacher and my current, beautiful Zatchel is just too big and heavy. Looking for a backpack that will enable me to transport a whole set of books (ours are all A4) easily plus some other bits and bobs. Not one with a laptop pocket as I don't use one - need a big space for books.

Not looking for sporty or quirky - need to leave that to the kids! I quite like some of the leather ones on ASOS but can't spend £150 and the straps look a bit flimsy.

I did consider one of those wheely boxes but my classroom is up a flight of stairs and we don't have a lift, so I'd rather put the heavy stuff on my back.

Anyone seen anything that might fit the bill?

DontKillMyVibe Fri 06-Nov-15 20:40:28

There's loads on this blog post

backpacks

Fallulah Fri 06-Nov-15 22:15:54

Hmmm. That's the thing - I don't want a briefcase on my back. I want a backpack, but a nice backpack. Sorry, I know I am being fussy. Thanks for helping me narrow it down though!

MrsBertMacklin Fri 06-Nov-15 22:19:23

Have you looked at a Kanken?

AvonleaAnne Fri 06-Nov-15 23:07:40

Some of these backpacks look nice.

www.thehealthybackbag.co.uk

Fallulah Fri 06-Nov-15 23:39:42

Thank you smile

Hadn't seen the Kankens before. They're a bit functional/boxlike for my liking.

Those healthy back bags are lovely but the shape means I wouldn't get the books in.

I like this, if it were in a nice soft brown leather, and without the monkey.
www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Kipling-Firefly-N-Backpack-In-Soft-Khaki-C-BNWT-69-/221923872162?hash=item33abb18da2:g:eJwAAOSw14xWLl4y

And I like both the leather and, strangely, the spotted backpacks on this page, but I've had two Fatface bags in the past which haven't lasted long before bits of them broke, so something similar from somewhere else might be good:
www.fatface.com/page/search?q=backpack

catdoodles Fri 06-Nov-15 23:57:16