Talk

Advanced search

Wedding prep advice needed!

(11 Posts)
sarahsinlondon Sun 03-May-15 21:43:03

I'm getting married later this month and despite resisting much of the bridal magazine cliches, I'm starting to think about some prep and need some advice as I'm a total novice.

I've never had a spray tan before but think it might help look nice in the photos. Question is - how long before the wedding day do you get it done? I'm worried it'll all rub off on my (white) wedding dress leaving it looking grubby by evening (and making it impossible to sell if I need to in future). I'm not sure I have time to do a trial run but I'm a bit nervous in case I end up one of those fluke allergic reactions - they are common?

Also - do facials actually do anything? Is it worth having one before the wedding? And if so, when? Better to go close to the wedding day so you still look glowy or better to go early in case it brings you out in spots?

Would love to hear your wedding prep advice / what you did before yours! Thank you.

cuntyMcCunterson Sun 03-May-15 21:54:43

I HATE the smell of fake tan, chemically and biscuity and gets worse if I get warm, I went for a few sunbeds (6/7) before my wedding just to warm my skin up a bit.
Personally I wouldn't start with facials a few weeks before the wedding. I break out pretty badly so before my wedding I just stuck with my tried and tested beauty regimen and drank loads of water each day, about 3.5L.

MuttonCadet Sun 03-May-15 21:58:07

Don't get a fake tan (they are always too dark and you won't be happy), facial would be fine 2 months in advance to see how you get on, but not weeks in case you break out.

SconessMcFloness Sun 03-May-15 22:05:13

I got a fake tan fir a friend's wedding, I'm deathly pale and asked for a very light colour, which looked great...but it did rub off onto clothes despite them saying it wouldn't and it was patchy as it wore off....not great for a beach look!

sarahsinlondon Sun 03-May-15 22:12:46