Talk

Advanced search

Whether you’re a beauty novice or a confirmed fashionista, this topic is for consulting Mumsnetters on all things style-related. Plus, check out our Swears By page for the inside track on the next Mumsnet must-have.

Inexpensive work wardrobe that isn't polyester - and lunch boxes!

(22 Posts)
kpdiscodancer Wed 04-Feb-15 13:31:20

Hi everyone
I am shortly going to be starting a new job in a corporate environment - the likes of which I have never worked in before and the last time I worked I was in maternity wear so things could have changed.
I need to buy myself a staple work wardrobe but it needs not to be too expensive whilst I suss out what to wear more regularly. I am losing weight so don't want to spend too much until I get slimmer but find that all affordable shirts are made from polyester and if I wear those, by the end of the day I smell! (Is it just me? I use a strong deodorant and lots of perfume!)
Any suggestions?!
Also the office is miles away from any local amenities and due to said diet I want to take my lunch with me rather than rely on the canteen. What do stylish women take their lunches in?! I don't really want a My Little Pony lunch box these days :-)
Many thanks for your help.

Passthecake30 Wed 04-Feb-15 19:09:21

lurking as all the polyester/chiffon shirts make me stink too....the smell won't even wash out!

I've seen a lot of ladies with "little brown bag"s , I don't know if stylish, but I want one!

Woozlebear Wed 04-Feb-15 19:15:57

Uniqlo is the cheapest place for cotton shirts. Or used to be anyway, haven't looked for a while. But generally smart fitted cotton ones are expensive.

If it's your style at all White Stuff are quite good sometimes for natural fibres and they do a small amount kg stuff designed for work. Not your typical corporate stuff but smart enough to pass.

Drives me potty. Dh can buy some wool trousers and smart cotton shirt for a fraction of what it would cost me.

Nolim Wed 04-Feb-15 19:22:47