Talk

Advanced search

Whether you’re a beauty novice or a confirmed fashionista, this topic is for consulting Mumsnetters on all things style-related. Plus, check out our Swears By page for the inside track on the next Mumsnet must-have.

How to remove black hair dye?

(18 Posts)
rubyshoes3 Wed 04-Feb-15 00:07:34

I have been colouring my hair black for a few years now, but now I would like to dye it a brown colour. I find the black colour really shows my white hair and I was thinking a lighter colour would hide it a bit.
Previously I had it removed at the salon and coloured red but the red was difficult to maintain and it really damaged my hair. So I wanted to know what would be the best way to remove the black with the least damage to my hair. I can not at this moment afford to go to a salon and I am a bit scared to use the colour removers, if any one has used them can they tell if they damaged their hair. Any advice will be appreciated.

LongDistanceLove Wed 04-Feb-15 00:10:46

Colourb4, the extra strong one got 13 years of me dying my hair black out. I ended up with a natural red colour which was nice. I found that my hair felt better than its been in a while after using it, plus you can use hair dye straight after too.

rubyshoes3 Wed 04-Feb-15 00:15:43

Thank you LongDistanceLove I was worried about these colour removers, good to know they did not damage your hair and you can dye straight away. Is this available from a shop or a salon?

cheeseburgerandfries Wed 04-Feb-15 00:21:29

- you could try to wash it with washing up liquid or a clarifying shampoo and see if it fades itself

- you could bleach it with a bleaching kit or pop a blonde box dye over it- it will definitely go bright orange (maybe a bit patchyconfused) but you could then put a brown dye over that (however you would maybe be left with a red tinge which would keep showing through as the dye faded- an ash tone dye or purple shampoo would help counteract that)