Talk

Advanced search

Warm natural fibre cardi/jumper/wraps that aren't wool

(20 Posts)
FruitBasedDrinkForALady Tue 09-Dec-14 21:40:11

So somehow I'm suddenly allergic to wool. I am now sad and cold. Other than swaddling myself in thermals, can anyone suggest some alternatives? I would prefer natural fibres where possible - would silk be good?

Bluestocking Tue 09-Dec-14 21:45:28

Cashmere? Silk is lovely and warm too.

FruitBasedDrinkForALady Tue 09-Dec-14 21:59:09

Unfortunately cashmere is out, it makes me itchy. Do you have any idea what percentage silk I'd need in a blend? I have found some nice pieces on Woolovers which are 30% silk, 70% cotton.

frankietwospots Tue 09-Dec-14 22:27:56

100% cotton? I got a lovely slouchy grey jumper from Top Shop today that is 100% cotton (chunky knit, £34) but annoyingly it isn't online.

Bluestocking Tue 09-Dec-14 22:31:26

I don't think 30% silk, 70% cotton would be all that warm, but I'm no expert - I count myself fortunate to be able to wear wool next to the skin! Might be worth looking at Patra Silk?

FruitBasedDrinkForALady Tue 09-Dec-14 22:58:59

Frankie, I'm the coldest creature I know so unfortunately cotton just isn't warm enough in winter. Bluestocking thanks, I'll have a look at the Patra website. I don't know what's happened to me to cause this reaction - merino and cashmere are making me really itchy and lambswool is making me short of breath as well.

RaisingSteam Tue 09-Dec-14 23:22:55

You can get knitwear in bamboo, otherwise it really might be acrylic. There are some high quality cotton/microfibre yarns that have a warm feeling.

I have one of those silk/cotton cardigans, it is very fine and summery. Do you think you're allergic to alpaca - comes from a different animal.

RaisingSteam Tue 09-Dec-14 23:25:40

Oh and hemp you can get grungy knitwear they sell at festivals! You'd have to layer up to be warm.

RaisingSteam Tue 09-Dec-14 23:27:38

this - hemp and cotton?

RojaGato Tue 09-Dec-14 23:39:45