Talk

Advanced search

I want to take a stab at contouring

(58 Posts)
TheTravellingLemon Mon 24-Nov-14 17:41:36

But I read somewhere that you shouldn't buy the kits as you'll probably have most of what you need already.

I already have touche eclat, foundation in my tone, compact powder in my tone and blusher that's probably too pink.

What should be on my shopping list?

And for a bonus point, can anyone recommend good blusher?

Greengardenpixie Mon 24-Nov-14 18:04:26

whats conturing? Ive never heard of it!!!

NetHuns Mon 24-Nov-14 18:05:08

Bronzer....

TheTravellingLemon Mon 24-Nov-14 18:12:16

Any brand in particular? I'm very pale and bronzer can make me look ridiculous!

It's a make up technique. I'm not very good with make up as a rule, but my friend tried it and looked beautiful.

Highlighting powder.

I use a sleek contouring palette. I'll try and find a link for it.

sleek contour kit

I use the darker shades (I'm indian) with an angled blush and a blusher brush. The lightest shades might work for you.

If you are very pale bronze may be the wrong tone. I can't wear it. I use illamasqua cream pigment in hollow as my darker shade

TheTravellingLemon Mon 24-Nov-14 18:24:57

Thank you. I am very pale. Like, reflect the sun kind of pale!

I used this site to help me know the basics where to start and tweaked it a little.

I only contour around my cheekbones as I have a small, narrow face with a sharp nose.

TheTravellingLemon Mon 24-Nov-14 18:53:19

Thanks NotEven. I'm quite excited to give it a go. I'm expecting miracles!

SqueezyCheeseWeasel Mon 24-Nov-14 19:00:35

The NYX taupe blusher is dirt cheap and a great shade for contouring on pale skin. You need a cool toned product so bronzer is totally the wrong thing. You will end up stripy and orange.