Talk

Advanced search

What do you wear if you don't wear skinny jeans?

(16 Posts)
CeliaFate Tue 04-Mar-14 09:11:43

I need an outfit for a meal out at a local restaurant. It's not fancy, but

not casual either.

Every time I look for inspiration, it's always "skinny jeans and a nice

top".

I don't like skinny jeans on me. They don't suit me and I don't feel

comfortable, but I can't find a smart, fashionable alternative that's

within budget (£50 ish, but would stretch if the outfit was perfect).

Help!

curiousgeorgie Tue 04-Mar-14 09:14:23

I usually do leggings with a dress / nice top and boots.

emsyj Tue 04-Mar-14 09:15:47

How about a jumpsuit?

I keep picking up this one in Debenhams too, but suspect I'm too old to get away with it.

CeliaFate Tue 04-Mar-14 09:16:19

I do too, but that's my work "uniform" (I'm a teacher) so I wanted something different but as comfortable.
BTW, I'm early 40s, size 12 if it helps.

CeliaFate Tue 04-Mar-14 09:17:20

I love that jumpsuit! I fear though that I'm too old for it too (having worn jumpsuits the first time round in the 80s grin)

bigTillyMint Tue 04-Mar-14 09:19:44

That black jumpsuit is really nice - I would wear it and I'm nearly 50!

emsyj Tue 04-Mar-14 09:22:35

I vote you go with the jumpsuit wink. There are loads of them around, those are just two I happen to have seen and like. I had a super cool yellow jumpsuit with crayons printed on it when I was a kid - so it's second time around for me too.

I've just bought some 'superskinny trousers' from Dorothy Perkins, which are a non-denim alternative to skinny jeans... They were only £20 and they are quite flattering I think. I guess it depends what your objections are to skinny jeans whether they might be a good alternative. here

Catswiththumbs Tue 04-Mar-14 09:22:53

Cigarette pants. Or wide leg trousers. Or straight cut jeans.

Or a dress/skirt?

ThatBloodyWoman Tue 04-Mar-14 09:24:08

Skirt and boots, if leggings are no go.