Talk

Advanced search

Have you ever had a bunion treated? Tell me about it!

(29 Posts)
Financeprincess Sat 01-Mar-14 22:49:27

I think I have one. I can't say goodbye to my high heels, I just can't!!

So, rather than submitting to comfy shoes for the rest of my life, who wants to tell me about having their bunions seen to? What happened, did it hurt, what was the recovery time and, most importantly, can you now wear your heels in comfort again??

(I've been wearing impractical shoes for 25 years and don't plan to stop now, aged 42).

thriftychic Sun 02-Mar-14 00:08:05

I think i have a bunion coming aswell , everytime i wear anything other than completely flat shoes my toe joint hurts . My mum had bunions , really bad ones and had the operation . They did one foot at a time and she had to be off work for 6 weeks each time. the actually operation was ok but it was really painful for a while afterwards . She still wears unsuitable shoes .

RonaldMcDonald Sun 02-Mar-14 01:30:14

watching

CalorHousewifeoftheYear Sun 02-Mar-14 01:53:10

Also watching.

naturelover Sun 02-Mar-14 09:03:35

I had the surgery. Very painful for a couple of days, then just inconvenient wearing one of those boot thingies for six weeks. Took a few weeks for the swelling to go down. Three years on the scar is very faint and my foot is beautifully straight. The main thing is I am no longer in pain.

I was no great wearer of heels and still don't wear heels all that often! My surgeon rolled his eyes when I asked if I could wear ballet flats afterwards (previously they wouldn't fit around the bunion). He said I could but not for school run/long walks or all day every day.

GiniCooper Sun 02-Mar-14 09:09:37

I was just googling this treatment right now!

I've had mine developing since childhood. Obviously I wasn't wearing I'll fitting shoes then so I'm not convinced it's all down to heels.
Bloody painful though.

StephenKatz Sun 02-Mar-14 09:33:41