Talk

Advanced search

Do back massagers ever NOT SAY that you're tense?

(22 Posts)
GretaWolfcastle Sat 22-Feb-14 22:12:58

I can't imagine that they can tell tbh

ShatnersBassoon Sat 22-Feb-14 22:19:11

I've only had a handful of back massages, but I don't think I've ever been told I'm tense. I'm a very relaxed person, perhaps that's why I don't go for massages often grin

A woman in a shopping precinct told me she could tell how stressed I was by looking at the ridges on my nails confused. She was peddling nail buffer things, unsurprisingly...

MotherBluestocking Sat 22-Feb-14 22:35:11

No. But sometimes they sound really shocked, so you know you actually are.

Megbeth Sun 23-Feb-14 02:40:36

I am a beauty therapist but when I do a back massage I never say anything. Most people carry stress in the shoulders & neck so I just work on that area a bit longer.

MauriceMinor Sun 23-Feb-14 02:46:06

You are so right! Then they suggest you come back once a week to get the problem under control grin

Actually I think they do it to play to people's ego/hypochondriac tendencies. People like to think they're stressed.

foxysocks Sun 23-Feb-14 04:11:58

you don't think they can tell? are you serious?

i teach yoga and tell whether someone is tense in the shoulders/neck within a few minutes of their first class, even without touching them. i would expect a masseuse to be able to tell for sure, unless they were rubbish in which case i wouldn't be going to them in the first place.

neck/shoulder/back issues are so dominant. a large proportion of the uk population carries stress and tension there - you can tell just by looking around!

squoosh Sun 23-Feb-14 04:15:11

I get told my muscles are like concrete!

squoosh Sun 23-Feb-14 04:24:37

hmm

You don't think they can tell........as they grab your tense muscles in each hand??

Why would you attend a masseuse if you thought they were spinning you a line?