Talk

Advanced search

anyone want to join me in trying the curly girl method?

(33 Posts)
lilystem Sun 16-Feb-14 09:18:46

After yet another disastrous haircut where I ended up with the shortest hair ever despite asking for a chin length bob (how difficult is it as a hairdresser to realise that curls BOUNCE!) I ordered the curly girl handbook last week.

I bought the body shop sulphate free shampoo (I'm a farmer and get pretty dirty so wasn't totally convinced by co - washing) and conditioner. Day 1 on Friday I was soooo impressed with my curls! They'll look even better when they've grown again.

I've read that the hair improves over time so I'm quite excited by this.

Got a bit carried away on amazon and ordered a fair amount of devacurl products too.

Anyone want to join me?

Doitnow Sun 16-Feb-14 09:31:46

Hello.
I'm keen, I have long very frizzy curly hair and am getting to the end of my tether with it. I keep reading snippets about curly girl, but where do I find out about it properly?

Also I've just bought a load of frizz ease stuff and don't want to waste it - but perhaps I should just get rid and move on as whilst it's better than other stuff I've tied, it doesn't really work.

Is the shampoo etc you need to buy very expensive?

Sorry for all the questions, probably not quite what you were hoping for!

Curlyfrizzball Sun 16-Feb-14 09:34:43

I've been doing this for a little while now, but just bought one range of products and have stuck with them. It didn't make much difference to my hair to begin with, but it's a lot more under control now (should change my username really!). I would love to try more products and share experiences though.

I think you're supposed to work out which kind of curls you have and exactly which sorts if products are best for your hair, but I haven't done all that really.

I currently use the Tresemme silicone-free conditioner, Naked leave-in conditioner when needed and Boots pink curl creme (99p a pot and brilliant stuff!).