Talk

Advanced search

Curly hair for a complete beginner - please explain slowly using small words...

(26 Posts)

My 21mo DD has absolutely fantastic corkscrew curls, but sadly they are normally completely obliterated by the mass of fuzz/frizz that takes over every time her head touches a pillow or hat or when she decides to randomly roll around on the floor.

I've been reading up on the Curly Girl method and I'm gearing up to take the plunge. So far I've understood that sulphates and 'cones are bad m'kay and ideally I should be washing her hair with a 'thin' conditioner (in lieu of shampoo) most days, followed by a richer but still rinse-out conditioner (at which point I comb through any tangles), and finally I put a leave-in conditioner on her hair. Am I keeping up so far?

It's the next stage that confuses me. Most websites then say "and then use your normal styling products". Or "then just apply any gels, oils or serums as usual." HELP?! I don't have curly hair myself so I have no idea what a "normal" styling product to use on corkscrew curls would be. I'm also very reluctant to start loading up DD's hair with a ton of product everyday, surely 21mo is far too young for gels?!

Can some kindly soul please come along and tell me exactly what I need to do with DD's hair, from start to finish? At most I think I'd like to "style" her hair with just a light oil (or serum?) to give a little definition to her curls. Nothing heavy or gunky. She also has super sensitive skin (prone to eczema) so nothing with harsh chemicals. Up until now I've just been washing her hair with olive oil shampoos and conditioners filled with naughty sulphates and 'cones and putting the same shea/olive oil on her hair as I do on her skin. It's definitely not working...