Talk

Advanced search

Plus size smart/casual help sorely needed

(4 Posts)
ballinacup Thu 09-May-13 09:14:26

I'm short and round (5'3 and a size 20) and need some inspiration. I work as a solicitor in a very relaxed office, no one wears suits or tailoring, but everyone looks smart and very very lovely. I feel like a sack of spuds tied with string in comparison.

I just do not have a clue what to wear. I see lovely dresses but then... what would I wear on my legs? They're lily white and do not tan easily, so I feel embarrassed bearing them, but tights always seem to wrinkle down, probably because I'm so short and dumpy. Linen trousers seem like a nice summer option but what to wear on top? And with linen trousers usually being quite a wide leg, will I make myself look short er and round er ?

I don't have a huge amount to spend, but could probably stretch to the likes of Monsoon/Dorothy Perkins prices for a few really nice mix and match outfits. Any help would be greatly received flowers

valiumredhead Thu 09-May-13 09:19:19

No advice but please don't fret about white legs, fake tan is vastly over rated imo, tights in the summer are vile - just be pale and interesting grin

ballinacup Thu 09-May-13 09:38:08

Fake tan frightens me, it wouldn't have been an option as every time I used it in my teenage years I would be anticipating a warm, sunkissed glow and would end up looking like an Oompa Loompa that had melted. Every time.

valiumredhead Thu 09-May-13 09:42:22

Me too grin

Do you wear scarves? What about linen trousers, plain top and a loose scarf in pretty colours? I have no clue really, I'm sure someone more stylish will come along in a mo and put me straight!

Jewellery is a good way to start feeling a bit smart ime - invest in a few bits of silver, earrings and a bracelet perhaps? I look on line for bargains as it tends to be cheaper.

Hair - do you have a good cut? I always think that can start you off feeling good about yourself and more confident.