Talk

Advanced search

Whether you’re a beauty novice or a confirmed fashionista, this topic is for consulting Mumsnetters on all things style-related. Plus, check out our Swears By page for the inside track on the next Mumsnet must-have.

Do you ever order clothes when you have to pay for returns?

(102 Posts)
Restorer Wed 08-May-13 21:03:23

I'm not good at on-line shopping. Over the years I've kept far too many duff items because I was too lazy to send them back. Now I have a policy that if I don't love it, it goes back. OK is not good enough.

I have a largeish order I'd like to place, including a couple of items in more than one size and colour to see what's best. I thought that was how on-line shopping was supposed to work, but if I have to pay Royal Mail rates to return them, it's going to be very expensive indeed, so I probably won't buy anything at all from this company. I can't go into the shop, because we don't have any decent shops round here - even the slightly better shops only seem to sell the bottom end of their range.

Why do companies think it's a good idea to charge for returns and do you use them if they do?

Roshbegosh Wed 08-May-13 21:09:25

No, it pisses me off. Paying for postage in the first place is bad enough but then to pay for returns as well and end up with nothing. Bummer.

dexter73 Wed 08-May-13 21:14:26

I probably wouldn't if it was a large order and I knew I was going to return some of it. Would cost £££ and you would have to do it special delivery in case it got lost. Mind you I can't remember the last time I placed an order and they didn't have free returns. Which company is it? (nosy)

catslave Wed 08-May-13 21:18:10

Which company? Ask and I'll bet there's a coupon for free returns somewhere. Unless it is Mango, who really p me off with that.

hollyisalovelyname Wed 08-May-13 21:18:55