Talk

Advanced search

Whether you’re a beauty novice or a confirmed fashionista, this topic is for consulting Mumsnetters on all things style-related. Plus, check out our Swears By page for the inside track on the next Mumsnet must-have.

What can I wear on my legs and feet with this dress, please?

(28 Posts)
LetsFaceTheMusicAndDance Sun 13-Jan-13 11:17:33

Hi
I would really appreciate some advice. I have a friend's 50th birthday party in a couple of weeks. I found this dress and one a bit like it but with a 'nude' lining under lace and more of a 50s shape.

uk.monsoon.co.uk/view/product/uk_catalog/mon_6.25/3530180108

The dress comes just below the knee on me and I have fairly chunky calves and some thread veins in the foot area but nothing horrific. My skin is too pale to just leave bare though.

I'm not good with high heels and I have wide feet. I do have a very comfy pair of strappy black eveningish sandals with a bit of a heel but they are very 'open' over the foot so I wouldn't be able to wear tights.

So do I get a spray tan on my legs and wear the exisiting sandals?(hmm to the Body shop for discontinuing their gradual tanning lotion)

Do I get different and more closed in shoes so I can wear dark tights?

And if I get a tan - how do I make sure it looks ok as I've never had one before?

Thanks very much in advance. smile

makinglemonade Sun 13-Jan-13 11:53:09

On my phone so can't see the dress but thought I'd give you a tip on tanning.

I don't think spray tanning your legs only is the way to go - it looks better if you have an all over one. Although if you go for this option be careful - it's the wrong time of year for a deep tan.