Advanced search

I am going out tomorrow night...

(14 Posts)
ThatBastardSanta Fri 09-Nov-12 13:50:26

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

ThatBastardSanta Fri 09-Nov-12 13:51:49

iMum Fri 09-Nov-12 13:54:17

it mostly depends on what your hair is like? i'm a vintage hair stylist (amongst other hair related things) so if i can help i will

ThatBastardSanta Fri 09-Nov-12 13:59:34

ThatBastardSanta Fri 09-Nov-12 14:03:38

iMum Fri 09-Nov-12 14:05:16

If you are good with your hair then have a play-but a front roll can be tricky-usually a side parting, with a little hair each side clipped back is enough to lend a little vintage without being ott. there is a wealth of advice on youtube-this lady is amazing-good luck!

iMum Fri 09-Nov-12 14:07:10

I certainly have a lot of customers, the blitz parties are very popular-also "alternative" types are keen on the look be it more pinked up or whatever.

BunnyLeBOOwski Fri 09-Nov-12 14:07:47

I think a 50's style dress worn with an ordinary do looks odd.

I would go for a wee victory roll on one side at the front.

Or some kitten ears which are easier to do. All you need is a comb, grips and hairspray.

Get thee to youtube!

Oh and you must do proper red lippy + eyeliner!

ThatBastardSanta Fri 09-Nov-12 14:09:43

BunnyLeBOOwski Fri 09-Nov-12 14:09:44

iMum - without wanting to derail OP's thread can I ask you a question?

What is the best haircut to have if you want to regularly wear vintage hairdo's?

I have long thick hair with a fringe and no matter how long I spend curling it the curls drop out in an hour. Would shoulder length be better? With no fringe?

And all one length or layered?

<cheeky face>

iMum Fri 09-Nov-12 14:23:48

The typical vintage cut I do is called the midi or the midi long. It is fairly short-here its basically an all over layers cut.