Talk

Advanced search

Tell me about blusher. Assume I know NOTHING!

(21 Posts)
Whenisitmysleepytime Thu 18-Oct-12 17:05:45

blush

I have never used it. I don't know what to do with it. Or how to choose a shade - they all look so strong!
I think I need them tho as I am looking rather washed out ATM.

Educate me please! blush

Sleepyfergus Thu 18-Oct-12 17:43:18

Ooh, I'm interested in this too! Bump!

minipie Thu 18-Oct-12 17:50:57

I love blusher, a tiny amount makes such a difference to how I look. I am no expert but here is what I (think I) know:

3 basic kinds: powder, cream and stain.

Cream is freshest looking. Powder is easiest to build up gradually. With either, start with a tiny amount, blend really really well, and add more as required. Always apply in natural light if you can - bright artificial light will wash out the colour so may lead to you overdoing it by mistake.

Stain is IMO only for the experienced - though Benefit's Benetint and Posietint are supposed to be reasonably easy to use.

It should go on the "apple" of your cheek - smile, and see where the cheek rounds, that is where you should put blusher (as that is where would naturally flush when you are hot/cold/flustered etc). But obviously need to blend well (as above) to avoid clown look.

If you wear foundation/BB cream/tinted moisturiser, apply blusher afterwards.

NARS are often recommended as having shades that suit everyone. I like Clinique, they don't do many shades but they are all pretty non scary. The bareMinerals ones and Boots Natural Collection ones are worth a look too I reckon.

Lovewearingjeans Thu 18-Oct-12 18:00:45

Benefit do a lovely powder called Dandelion that you can build up on your face (if you are pale)

jessiegee Thu 18-Oct-12 18:20:35