Talk

Advanced search

Lily lolo; how can I tell which shade is the right one?

(9 Posts)
RonettePulaski Wed 17-Oct-12 21:32:53

I've been using bare minerals for a while. I couldn't get to a counter so picked 'light' fairly randomly as the starter kits were light or dark and I'm blondeish

I'd read on here that lily lolo is good too so I've got a bunch of samples.

I've stood in a bright light after applying a bit of each and I'll be buggered if I can tell which is the right shade

Is there any technique or way of telling which is best? It's like I'm blind to the fineness or subleties and specificity that makes the difference between looking good and looking like an old lady with badly applied make up. Am I looking for something the exact same colour as my skin, or a slightly nicer version of my skin. And sometimes I'm pinkish and other times I'm grayish, so which tone do I go for? Hot flushes or tired and spent?

YoungJoseph Wed 17-Oct-12 22:08:41

I'm no real expert but will try and help...they split skin types into cool, warm and neutral. I looked at my wrists and ummed and ahhed and since I couldn't decide what I was I thought I must be neutral (I'm blondish too). Once I had decided that then it was quite easy to narrow the choices to two different shades-'barely buff' and 'in the buff'. If you look on their website there is a picture of the shades arranged in a grid which really helps.
Now I ordered the 'in the buff' BUT I think it's a bit dark for my paler winter skin so I have now ordered 'barely buff' hoping it will look more suitable for the next few months.
Ideally foundation should blend into your skin and not make you look orange or too white, it should even your skin tone so you have more or less one colour all over (until you add blusher / bronzer etc).