Talk

Advanced search

Hair dye on top of highlights and grey.

(8 Posts)
trinni Thu 29-Sep-11 22:51:29

I should know the answer to this and I'm sure it's a big fat no.

I have highlighted (several shades of blonde) hair - high lift tint, not bleach and approx 50% grey.

I'm beginning to look like the undead as my hair is too ash/silvery due to the grey. I resent the cost, getting it high/low lighted so frequently so, can I put a home colourant on it to make it more golden?

Anyone taken the plunge? I don't want it to be a nasty block ginger shade so preferably a semi or wash in type thing that will leave it shiney.

I've been pondering this question for the past 10 years at least!

trinni Thu 29-Sep-11 22:53:04

...or shiny even!

MrsSchadenfreude Fri 30-Sep-11 07:14:30

I did this with a demi permanent - Casting, in something called "miel soleil" or "miel dore" (am in Paris - in UK I guess it would be something like sunshine honey or golden honey). It worked really well and lasted ages - you might need to leave it on a bit longer to really grip on the grey - I have a stubborn streak above both ears and did this first.

But you really need TattyDevine to advise.

TattyDevine Fri 30-Sep-11 09:16:04

I'm here!

I agree with using a semi, so its more of a "glaze" and shouldn't do too much extra lightening.

I believe the shade MrsShaudenfreude used is Casting Crème Gloss 8304 Sweet Honey. This is a number 8 so very light and should not cause any kind of blocky effect. The varying shades in your hair that already exist should still create some interest.

I suggest you keep getting highlights at the hairdresser from time to time but this shade should give you the warmth you crave.