Talk

Advanced search

What products/any styling tips for curly hair that tends to go frizzy?

(12 Posts)
SoftKittyWarmKitty Sun 11-Sep-11 21:27:48

After about 20 years of hating being in denial of my naturally curly hair, I've recently stopped straigtening it. I've had a lot of compliments but I'm still learning how to deal with it, as I'm so used to using straightening products and implements to get it as straight as possible that I'm not sure what products are best to use for curly hair. I want to encourage the curl and reduce frizz as it tends to go quite frizzy.

I'm currently washing/conditioning with Boots Naked Shine shampoo and conditioner, then I wrap up in a 'turban' type towel for 5-10 mins while I get dressed. I then put on Boots Curl Creme then Umberto Gianni Scrunching Jelly before diffusing. When I've dried it I put some Frizz Ease Secret Agent on which seems to enhance the curls and make them more shiney. It looks pretty curly at first but tends to have a 'dry, crunchy' feel to it when dry. By the end of the day/next day, it tends to look a bit frizzy, especially underneath.

Any advice or suggestions of products/styling tips would be greatly appreciated. In case it's relevant, it's about armpit length and I'm trying to grow the layers out and grow it longer.

tethersend Sun 11-Sep-11 21:30:20

Kerastase leave in conditioner for curly hair is amazing- not crunchy or heavy at all.

whojimmyflip Sun 11-Sep-11 21:36:52

fill a water spray with water and a bit of conditioner and spritz when hair starts to get frizzy. This is especially good for the following morning - it will reactivate product from previous day and reshape curls.

SoftKittyWarmKitty Sun 11-Sep-11 21:39:41

Thanks, I've been thinking a leave-in conditioner might be a good idea. I can't afford Kerastase at the moment though - maybe in a month or two. Which colour range is it in? Might have to find a cheaper alternative in the meantime.