Talk

Advanced search

is there such a thing as a good, cheap, hair straightener?

(21 Posts)
CharlotteBronteSaurus Tue 19-Jul-11 20:46:56

am back to work in a fortnight, and dd2 still won't let me put her down much. so I will need to shower and sort out my barnet the night before. I've never used straightners before, but I was idly thinking that perhaps a quick straighten in the morning might help me look a bit more groomed.
can anyone recommend some cheapo ones? or is this one of those things where you get what you pay for?

nancy75 Tue 19-Jul-11 20:48:54

I think cheap hair straighteners are a bit of a false economy. I have bought cheap one in the past and found them to be rubbish, my GHD's were worth every penny but i do have truly dreadful hair

CharlotteBronteSaurus Tue 19-Jul-11 20:52:18

nooooooo, don't say that grin.
although my hair is pretty straight, it's more the sort of groomed look i was after (not poker straight though), so perhaps i could get away with something less heavy duty?
<hopeful>

petitdonkey Tue 19-Jul-11 20:53:53

Sorry, I was coming on to say no too. GHD's all the way (I had three cheap pairs before relenting)!
Buy cheap, buy twice.

nancy75 Tue 19-Jul-11 20:54:13

If your hair is pretty straight cheaper ones might be ok - I have hair like wire wool so i need extreme heat!

TennisFan Tue 19-Jul-11 20:56:46

GHDs are the best and last forever and will sort your hair out really quickly.
But I haven't tried any of the cheaper ones for years since I have had the GHDs

Macaroona Tue 19-Jul-11 21:00:00

GHDs. Don't waste money on cheap ones or any other brand.

I've had mine for 7 years and they're going strong - got them fixed once for £15 by an EBay business, couldn't survive without them so bought some cheap replacements and they were awful - GHDs glide through your hair and make it shiny and swishy, perfect quick morning fix.

HoneyNorwegianRidgebackdragon Tue 19-Jul-11 21:01:30

yes......

2nd hand ghds off ebay grin