Talk

Advanced search

Post c-section wobbles

(15 Posts)
MWestie Thu 30-Jun-11 22:09:10

Can anyone advise? Had a c-section 3 weeks ago and my stomach is so flabby and wobbly that still look pregnant. Have a family wedding to go to in 2 weeks and wanted to minimise it as much as possible. Would Spanx work do you think? Am a complete novice with things like that, are there any types that are better than others, what would you recommend? Thanks.

HellonHeels Thu 30-Jun-11 22:41:25

I have no experience of caesarians but plenty with spanx.

They can be a struggle to get into and feel tight - has your scar healed fully and does it feel tender?

TattyDevine Thu 30-Jun-11 22:50:23

From a scar point of view I think you'd be fine at 5 weeks post, but do be very careful getting in and out of them and don't be "greedy" and go too small a size, perhaps size up or get the larger of the 2 sizes if you are hovering between 2 sizes.

The only thing I would say is also, don't put too much pressure on yourself, that sounds trite, I don't mean from a "9 months on 9 months off" point of view but did you realise that if you give birth naturally, your uterus contracts back to its correct size in 10 days and sometimes less if you breastfeed. Whereas if you have a c-section, it takes up to 6 weeks, so the reason you still look pregnant is partly because you may not be fully contracted back in. My midwife told me that. So you are not necessarily "supposed" to look non-pregnant yet. Sure, nobody else probably realises that if you didn't but still - don't be too worried about it, you just had a baby after all.