Talk

Advanced search

Bleached hair disaster

(18 Posts)
LubyLu2000 Wed 22-Jun-11 12:38:56

To cut a long story short (no pun intended!) I have almost totally white hair (premature greyer!) which I have been dying dark brown/black for 20 years (I'm 39!). Thinking it would be great to no longer be a slave to the dye I decided to try and go as blonde as poss to either a) let the white grow in and see what it looks like or b) at least if I stay blonde the white regrowth won't be anywhere near as noticeable as with black hair (2 weeks and I already have a white line). Went to hairdressers last week having previously brought it down to a mahogany shade, got it all chopped into a pixie cut (which I love) and she did 2 treatments and then put some kind of colour over the top. Basically it's very gold looking and I hate it!! I look like I'm wearing a wig. I'm not too sure but I think it's too warm for me - I'm pretty sure I'm a cold colour person - really suited black hair and strong colours so am hoping I would suit cold white blonde/platinum.
It's very dry but I've spent a week slathering it with conditioners and I'm going to go back tomorrow to see if I can get it lightened some more.
Sooooo...... my question is what should I ask the hairdresser to do?!
Thanks for reading, sorry it's a bit long!

TattyDevine Wed 22-Jun-11 13:07:49

You need a silver/purple toner.

She will know what to do, don't worry.

Its easily sorted.

TattyDevine Wed 22-Jun-11 13:08:35

You basically need one of these

WhipMeIndiana Wed 22-Jun-11 13:08:51

keep with the treatments too, try a hot oil one

WhipMeIndiana Wed 22-Jun-11 13:09:28

take some pics in to hairdresser as I found my idea of blonde was v different to theirs grin

LubyLu2000 Wed 22-Jun-11 13:24:06