Talk

Advanced search

Pros and Cons of using ColourB4 and ColourB4 Extra Strength

(1 Post)
TattyDevine Sun 19-Jun-11 17:26:55

Lots of people have heard about ColourB4 which is relatively new to the market, it is a product that reverses the hair colouring process using Hydrosulphate which basically shrinks the artificial colour molecules that are deposited into the hair shaft during the colouring process, allowing them to be rinsed away.

I'm not a professional and I don't have any "shares" in the product but I have used it on myself and several friends, did a lot of research beforehand and know a fair bit about it. I would recommend it in that I think most people don't have anything to lose by trying it because it is not expensive and it doesn't damage your hair (it drys it a bit but that can be easily reversed with intense conditioning) - but it doesn't cause structural damage in the way bleach can.

It is my experience that ColourB4 works very well on people with reds and brown dyes, particularly well if its a "one off mistake", and not so well on people with lots of build up of blacks and dark browns (though it can still be very worthwhile) and not so well on people who have used Schwarzkoft Live XXL colours or colours containing silicone, particularly if they use a lot of heat styling. It won't necessarily remove "cuticle staining" either though it has been used to remove "Directions" dye and worked - however it is not designed for this use, if you try it and it works, so much the better, but there are no guarantees.