Talk

Advanced search

Whether you’re a beauty novice or a confirmed fashionista, this topic is for consulting Mumsnetters on all things style-related. Plus, check out our Swears By page for the inside track on the next Mumsnet must-have.

A confession: I'm not very good at casualwear.

(16 Posts)
Pinkjenny Thu 02-Jun-11 14:35:09

We spent the weekend in a caravan <<faints>> with bf and her family. I took lots of ridiculously inappropriate clothes, skinny jeans and the like, and I was ludicrously uncomfortable most of the time. It struck me that I am just not very good at casualwear. Activewear, y'know, that kind of malarkey.

Have ordered a couple of things from The White Company, and am in the market for a nice The North Face jacket, but does anyone have any ideas?

How do I look fashionable, chic and comfortable all at once?

ColonelBrandonsBiggestGroupie Thu 02-Jun-11 14:43:48

I'm rubbish at it, so watching this space!

Today I am wearing - long draped charcoal maxi skirt, White Company white and grey striped vest top, denim shirt worn open, flat sandals. It's comfortable and looks okay but I do feel a bit 'old fat lady in comfortable clothing' in it!

Pinkjenny Thu 02-Jun-11 15:22:44

We must be the only ones, Colonel. Have just ordered a couple of things from Hush, if you want to take a look over there.

ColonelBrandonsBiggestGroupie Thu 02-Jun-11 16:12:47

Will do. What did you order from the White Company? I've got a couple of bits from there and do like them but their range is v limited.

Pinkjenny Thu 02-Jun-11 16:28:32

I ordered this and this and these and this from The White Company. And this and this from Hush.

<<flexes credit card>>

ColonelBrandonsBiggestGroupie Thu 02-Jun-11 16:34:20

Love the two Hush things. The White Company jersey dresses are good - v comfortable and feel lovely to wear.

Soups Thu 02-Jun-11 22:10:19

I'm no good with smart wear smile