Talk

Advanced search

Whether you’re a beauty novice or a confirmed fashionista, this topic is for consulting Mumsnetters on all things style-related. Plus, check out our Swears By page for the inside track on the next Mumsnet must-have.

I am going to a spa. What will happen? Tell me all about it

(12 Posts)
flowerybeanbag Thu 18-Nov-10 10:54:39

I have never done anything like it before, but my lovely friend is having a hen do this weekend and part of it is a spa visit. Apparently I will be having a back massage and a facial.

Can anyone tell me what happens, what do I need to wear/bring, all that stuff? I am clueless!

flowerybeanbag Thu 18-Nov-10 12:22:54

<<needy>>

CMOTdibbler Thu 18-Nov-10 12:28:55

Usually, you need your swimming costume, and if there are steam rooms I like to take a really good deep cleanser so I can slap it on and steam it in, plus moisturiser.hair brush etc.

Generally you get changed into swimmers and the robe/slippers they provide, you get a tour round, and then you swim/steam/relax/gossip till your treatment time, then do the same after each treatment. You'll all have different times.

flowerybeanbag Thu 18-Nov-10 13:01:16

Ooh thanks CMOT, that's very helpful and sounds lovely!

craftynclothy Thu 18-Nov-10 13:11:46

Does it have a gym too? If so then you might want some gym clothes with you.

thenightsky Thu 18-Nov-10 13:13:22

Take 2 swimsuits. Then when it is lunchtime you can shower, put dry suit and dry gown over the top. Nobody dresses for lunch.

thenightsky Thu 18-Nov-10 13:14:20

Oh... and take some flip flops that you can wear with wet feet for walking from spa/pool area to changing rooms, then into dining room.

flowerybeanbag Thu 18-Nov-10 14:04:03

thanks all. It does have a gym I think, but I'm too lazy off for a big night out afterwards so don't want to knacker myself out too much grin

Good tip about the swimsuits and flip flops, will have to see what I can dig out.

HeadFairy Thu 18-Nov-10 14:10:28