Talk

Advanced search

Whether you’re a beauty novice or a confirmed fashionista, this topic is for consulting Mumsnetters on all things style-related. Plus, check out our Swears By page for the inside track on the next Mumsnet must-have.

Please help me accessorise this dress?

(6 Posts)
CrispyTheCrisp Sun 14-Nov-10 21:01:40

I am new to S&B, so please be gentle with me grin

I bought this dress today in dark teal. Only because I loved it. I have nowhere to wear it to - work Xmas do is a lunch so a bit OTT?

Where would i actually wear it and what necklace/shoes do i need? I have a small diamond pendant - would that work? <clueless>

TIA smile

CrispyTheCrisp Sun 14-Nov-10 21:11:33

Anyone stylish out there????

lalalonglegs Sun 14-Nov-10 22:11:31

I'd say silver shoes (high but quite plain) and some sort of chunky, silver tight necklace/choker round your neck - you don't want a pendant taking attention away from the one shoulder, it would just look unbalanced. Maybe ditch necklace altogether and go for statement ear-rings and bracelet.

Where would you wear it? If you haven't got a big do coming up, I might be tempted to return it - it's lovely but not the sort of thing you can just throw on.

CrispyTheCrisp Sun 14-Nov-10 22:16:55

Thanks Lala. You are right, i can't just throw it on, but i love it. DH has said he will take me out for a nice meal just to wear it grin, so a choker and silver sky scrapers it is

Where would you wear it BTW? ONLY to an evening Xmas/birthday do? Lots of friends will be turning 40 next year so i am sure one will have a party.....

twoboots Sun 14-Nov-10 22:19:09

i agree, no neckace and maybe something like
this ring or this bracelet
the jackie brazil site is under constuction, there is loads more statment suff there.

lalalonglegs Sun 14-Nov-10 22:27:43