Talk

Advanced search

prolapse... etc....

(8 Posts)
oatcake Wed 22-Jun-05 18:00:21

some of you might remember that I was asking about your knowledge of lotus births a few months ago (ie. when the placenta and cord are left attached to the baby until they drop off naturally). Well, my friend who wanted to practice this gave birth to a fine girl on monday morning. I watched in awe, it was beautiful

She had an independent midwife who was... not my cup of tea but friend had a a good relationship with her.

Anyway, girl born at 0902. Around 4.30pm, friend gets up for a wee and calls me to the bathroom to check what's hanging out of her and it's something that as a student midwife I had not seen before but I guessed it was a prolapse of the vaginal wall.

I called the midwife who said to put her back to bed and she'd call in the morning after telling me that it wasn't a prolapse as a prolapse bleeds and friend just had the normal post-birth bleeding. Unhappy with this response, I called my training hospital and one of the midwives who knows me, confirmed my suspicion that anything that shouldn't be outside of the body was a prolapse and it might bleed or it might not. She talked me through pushing it back inside friend (with her consent of course!), and advised rest, also saying that if I wasn't happy with anything then I should get the midwife out, no ifs buts or maybes.

I was very unhappy as I went to be a support to my friend, not as an unqualified midwife.