Talk

Advanced search

Some questions about studying with the OU for the pro's

(6 Posts)
PrincessToadstool Sun 16-Aug-09 08:07:29

I am currently studying DD100 - Intro to Social Sciences and thinking about what to do next and what my broader options are so anyone who knows about these things...:

Is it plausible to study 60 points a year with the OU until DS is at school and do the remaining 120 points (equivalent) at a brick university in one year?

Or, does anyone have experience of overlapping 60 point courses, so doing two in a year, one with a Feb start, one with October, and so on - in order to complete a BA in three/four years rather than six?

Is it possible to complete a BA at the OU then do an MA at a brick university?

Getting very ahead of myself but then I am a girl who likes a plan.

PrincessToadstool Sun 16-Aug-09 15:22:50

Small bump

Scrawl Sun 16-Aug-09 17:29:26

Hi PrincessToadstool,

Yes you can transfer credit from the OU to a brick university and vice versa. You need to discuss the arrangements with each establishment beforehand as it needs to be agreed and is not a 'given'.

It is also possible to study 120 points in one year with the OU and yes, it's preferable to overlap the courses and do an October start and a February start in the same year.

Some people who overlap suggest it is preferable to overlap one level 2 with one level 3 course for two years, rather than ending up with two level 3 courses together in the final year.

If you go to StudentHome or First Class and search for the 120 pointers forum, you will get good advice there about doubling up. Also, they may have experience in the specific courses you are looking to study.

Then it's a case of calling the OU and speaking to credit transfer regarding the completion of your degree at a brick university if that is what you decide.

Good luck with whatever you choose!

Scrawl x

PrincessToadstool Sun 16-Aug-09 18:09:29