Talk

Advanced search

OU foundation degree course........is it doable.....advice needed

(13 Posts)
BONKERZ Thu 25-Jun-09 20:02:39

I have the opportunity to study for a foundation degree in early years on the OU. Our local council have agreed to fund up to £4000 to enable me to do this.
I have 2 children aged 3 and 9, my DD will be at play school from 9-12 daily so i can use this time to study. I will also be working from 3-6 daily.

How easy is it to study with the OU?
How disciplined do you have to be?
How much support is available?
Should i bother? lol

any advice will be gratefully recieved.

MadMazza Thu 25-Jun-09 20:10:44

I am currently in the middle of an honours degree with the OU. I have been studying for 3 years so far - since DS1 was 5 and DS2 was 18m. I have about 2.5 years to go. It has been doable but sometimes stressful when assignments are due in. I devote roughly 3 hours 4 times a week when DS2 is at nursery but I do have to be very disciplined (and just about manage to keep up) . Sometimes I have to read in the evenings to keep up rather than watching TV..I sometimes work at weekends when I have essays to do (my DP is very supportive). When will your tutorials be? I have one Saturday class every 2 months which comes around quickly and DP does sometimes complain about having to have the children on those occasions! ALl work is via textbooks/DVDS CDRoms etc which are all supplied.

BONKERZ Thu 25-Jun-09 20:15:36

have no idea about when tutorials will be but it says they are not compulsory!
I can devote about 14 hours a week easily i think to study and they advise 5 hours minimum!

I have to make some calls tomorrow to see if i can get credits for my Diploma i did in 97, depending on that the person i spoke to at OU today thinks it can be completed in 18 months which is good cos i then want to do an EYPS course after that!

hocuspontas Thu 25-Jun-09 20:26:50