Talk

Advanced search

Experience of OU courses

(8 Posts)
curleyshirley Thu 24-Jul-08 13:35:29

Hello All
I think this is probably a crazy idea, but would really like advice from others, partic those who have experience of OU courses. I have one DS who is 13 months, and another due in early Dec. I was due to return to work this month, but because of pregnancy have had a career break agreed - currently for 12 months, but extendable. I work in the civil service so they are very good on things like that and I am very lucky. I am on the whole very happy being at home with DS, but also feel would love to do something for myself. I have a good job/career and there are some bits I really, really miss partic in terms of how I feel about myself, about respect for myself and from others in my role at work, pride in my acheivements and work etc etc. I would absolutely love to study again and feel doing an OU course would help fill the gap that I sometimes feel. I have a masters degree, so am interested really in doing a particular diploma, that is related to my work, to extend knowledge rather than to get another degree. So it would be two courses, a Level 2 and a level 3. The level 2 starts in October 2008. So, am I crazy for even thinking about starting an OU course 8 weeks before my second DC is due - with a DC of 15 months?? Should I wait another year? (which I really dont want to do - feel so far away!). Sorry for the length of post, felt background info was required. Thanks for reading - and any advice v gratefully received!

allgonebellyup Thu 24-Jul-08 19:28:24

hmm i think you can do it.
i started my first OU course when my dd was 6wks old. But at that point i only had the one child, not 2!
Are both the courses 60 credits or 30?

curleyshirley Fri 25-Jul-08 00:34:13