Talk

Advanced search

Should i do a PhD? Or is it a mad idea at this stage in my life?

(13 Posts)
goldpony Sat 12-Jul-08 20:48:59

Hello. Any advice from those that have done their phd, or doing one gratefully received - partic those who do/did with a family.

A possibility for funded PhD has come up. I would be in a great position to do it if not at this stage of life. I've been working for 10 years or so, directly in field that phd would likely be. BUT I have a toddler and currently work part time. We're thinking about TTC again soon. This would mean no maternity leave and probably pressure to get back to studying quite quickly after second baby born (assuming we don't have any fertility difficulties of course). The phd would involve a period of time in a malaria affected area... would you risk it with 2 young chidren....???

I switch from 'yes definitely' to 'no way'.

dopeydo Sat 12-Jul-08 22:03:35

Hello. I haven't done a phd but I did do most of my Masters whilst pregnant and before DS was 1 (although it ended up taking 3 years to complete). I can see what a great opportunity this is for you and would hate to stifle that. For me though with hindsight I wouldn't study at that time again for a no. of reasons. Energy levels/tiredness, time away from DS I found I was resenting the masters and didn't enjoy it as much as my undergrad, too many things to juggle I was also working part time, no time with DP & friends. Finally I didn't do as well on my Masters as I would have if I'd waited or got things going earlier. I hope that isn't too negative and I know that the a phd is a different situation to a taught masters, just wanted to be honest.

The health side thats for you to decide and balance risks, we could all say no to anything although am I right in thinking malaria is pretty contageous? Difficult one good luck follow gut instinct...I don't envy you even with what I've said I'd still be tempted... smile

stitch Sat 12-Jul-08 22:07:52