Talk

Advanced search

how old is too old to start a degree?

(43 Posts)
beansmum Wed 11-Jun-08 19:06:26

I'm going back to uni in Feb. I have chosen 1st year subjects that could lead to three different qualifications. One would take 3 years, one 4 and one at least 5. I really want to do the 5 year course but am I too old? I'll be 27 this week.

Habbibu Wed 11-Jun-08 19:07:15

Lord, no! You'd be quite a young mature student...

RosaLuxembourg Wed 11-Jun-08 19:07:56

I'm doing a degree with the OU atm. If I finish on schedule next year I will be 45. No such thing as too old, and from my perspective you are absurdly youthful anyway. wink

barnstaple Wed 11-Jun-08 19:08:11

These days I'd say about 143 - but only because you'd be dead.

MarsLady Wed 11-Jun-08 19:08:38

It's never too late and you can never be too old! grin

WinkyWinkola Wed 11-Jun-08 19:09:20

Keeping your brain active is vital at all stages in life. Learning is just the job.

Ha ha ha ha. Just read you're 27! Don't be daft - too old.

sallystrawberry Wed 11-Jun-08 19:11:09

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

beansmum Wed 11-Jun-08 19:15:10

Yeah, I'm probably worrying about nothing. but I'll be 32 when I graduate, ds will be 9 (shock). My dad keeps going on at me to find something to do with my life. Everyone I know went from school to uni to a job that they are still doing and I feel like I'm getting left behind. I AM young though, there's no mad rush.

MehgaLegs Wed 11-Jun-08 19:17:11

My FIL has literally just finished his music composition degree, he was 75 last week.

longlegted Wed 11-Jun-08 19:17:52

90?

SubRosa Wed 11-Jun-08 19:26:34

OP: you're definitely not too old. I'll be 43 when I finish my degree; one of my friends at uni is 61. Go for it, you're never too old

cluckyagain Wed 11-Jun-08 19:27:49

My 'aunty' did a 'computers don't bite' course at age 101. She passed!

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

beansmum Wed 11-Jun-08 20:28:34