Talk

Advanced search

Masters and a toddler... Anyone else?

(7 Posts)
Spudlet Sun 01-Oct-17 15:12:52

I did a MFL degree back in the age of the dinosaurs (well, 12 years ago anyway, it just feels like an aeon ago). Since then I've done other things, but since having ds I've decided that it's time for a career change, and do something that I love. That has lead me back to languages and from there on to translation, which I find fascinating.

There's a part time masters degree in applied translation available at the local university, so I'm currently working on trying to rebuild my fluency in my second language before applying, hopefully next year. While being a SAHM to an under two year old.

The idea is that once I start the masters ds will be old enough to attend the village preschool, giving me free time to study - at the moment I have one afternoon a week and nap-times to get any work done. I try in the evenings too, but I'm too knackered to make much sense by that point normally...! And also, I do some paid freelancing occasionally so I keep evenings for that when I have it (it involves less brainpower than working in another language).

The question is, am I being ridiculous to do this? I haven't studied for years - are there any return to study courses or similar? I did look for some online, but I got a list of tips, including one about buying stationery (thanks for that pro tip grin). Is anyone else doing something similar with such a young child in tow, and how's it going for you?

MagicFajita Sun 01-Oct-17 15:18:10

I think you'll be fine op. Back when my ds was around 1/2 I obtained my degree. It was hard work but I made it through.

Spudlet Sun 01-Oct-17 19:55:27

I hope so! It's lovely to hear that someone has done it - that's one hell of an achievement, DS will be nearly three by the time I start and that's assuming I apply next year. Hats off to you!

Graceface26 Sat 11-Nov-17 21:38:17

Hey, I don't think it's a ridiculous idea at all. I did my nursing degree when my little one was one. She's now 6 and I have a 10month old too and am doing my masters and working part time. It can be done, I won't lie at times it was so hard and I wanted to give up but I got through and you will too. I think you've just got to be really organised and it helps to have good childcare and support in place if you can get it! What got me through was knowing that it would all be worth it in the end and great for your family in the future. Good luck! X

ThelastUnicorn1982 Sun 12-Nov-17 14:21:56

Message deleted by MNHQ. Here's a link to our Talk Guidelines.

ThelastUnicorn1982 Sun 12-Nov-17 14:23:23

Hi Spudlet, you are not alone! I am doing a Masters degree as well. Plotting along everyday. Just working on a survey which is due next Tuesday :-P

studentmum3 Sat 02-Dec-17 08:29:44

I am doing a full-time master's degree. I have 3 children. The youngest is a toddler. Sometimes I think I am utterly crazy but I am hoping we all come out the other side alive, lol!

I considered part-time but my husband's job is unpredictable and juggling things for 1 year is hard. Juggling for 2 could prove impossible. It's tough because I can't afford childcare outside of the days I have lectures but I've managed to get my first few assignments in on time and have passed the first!

I had so many doubts before starting the MSc. I very nearly withdrew, before the course even started. I was really worried about how I'd cope. But I am now loving it and so glad I went ahead. I will not get the grades I might get if I didn't have children but hopefully I will pass the course! I will then be able to pursue a career that I will genuinely enjoy, for the most part, and will work much better with the children than what I used to do.

My house is a mess, I don't see friends. I grab study time during naps, TV time....whatever snatched moments I can! It's hard but it can be done.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now