Talk

Advanced search

I've been in 'the student room'

(9 Posts)
Zame Tue 07-Jul-15 22:18:53

And the degree I hope to do is always being described as a Mickey Mouse degree. I was/am excited about it , I find the forum pretty irritating and depressing overall anyway so I should ignore all these wanky opinions yes?
The uni I am going to ain't one of the 'best' and I get that it's not a maths or science degree (it's business) but it'll be relevant in the workplace surely! I don't have lofty ambitions, just to make enough to provide well for the children.
I'm probably just too old for the student room

Smurfingreat Tue 07-Jul-15 22:23:57

I'd ignore it. I studied business and I've survived. TBH Student Room is quite amusing at times, I'm a student landlord now and read it to make sure I understand my market, but so much of what happens online is such bullshit compared to the real students I see every day it is really not relevant in real life. Good luck with your degree.

Zame Tue 07-Jul-15 22:27:48

Thank god it's not all real, they can be so obnoxious. But then I guess I was when I was that age, and possibly still am who knows.
Thank you

Letmegetanamechange Wed 08-Jul-15 08:46:24

I used to be a member a few years ago, back when it was actually quite interesting and useful for my A-levels. I occasionally go on it to flick through and just feel a bit hopeless for the students of today. Obviously TSR isn't representative of all students, but now it just seems to be full of idiots hmm

If you want to study business then don't listen to what anyone else may say, especially some 18 year old keyboard warrior who thinks he's right about everything!

Zame Wed 08-Jul-15 09:31:41

There's a few on there who are reasonable, they're few and far between. i guess I need to remember that on Internet forums, all is not usually as it seems, I'll try to take it all with a very large pinch of salt

mygreeneyedboy Tue 04-Aug-15 10:52:03